DeWine, officials discuss flooding

Mayor Bill Judge along with seven mayors and other state and local officials met in Barberton with Governor Mike DeWine in a closed-door session to help resolve the Summit County flooding problems.

They are working together to find a solution to the repetitive flooding in our area.

Watch the Herald website for further updates and read more in the July 18 edition.

Those in attendance today include…

Summit County
*        Mayor William B. Judge, City of Barberton
*        Mayor Mike Zita, City of Norton
*        Mayor Al Knack, Village of Clinton
*        Mayor Paul Adamson, City of New Franklin
*        Trustee Helen Humphrys, Copley Township
*        Trustee Robert Saffian, Coventry Township
*        Summit County Councilwoman Bethany McKenney, District 7 – Summit County Council (Norton, Barberton, New Franklin, Clinton)
*        Thomas Smoot, Senior Administrator, Emergency Management Agency
Division of Public Safety

Stark County
*        Mayor Kathy Catazaro-Perry, City of Massillon
*        Mayor Joe Schultz, City of Canal Fulton

Additional Attendees
*        State Representative Bill Roemer (38th District)
*        State Representative Tavia Galonski (35th District)
*        State Senator Vernon Sykes (28th District)
*        Mike Cunnington, Policy Advisor, Congressman Anthony Gonzales (16th)

Governor DeWine Staff
*        Ohio EPA Director Laurie Stevenson
*        Ohio DSA Director Lydia Mihalik
*        Ohio EMA Regional Supervisor Bob Zehentbauer
*        ODOT Deputy District Director Gery Noirot


  1. Mike De-swine on August 6, 2019 at 1:23 pm

    bye bye. you’ll not be re elected

  2. Greg on July 10, 2019 at 5:58 pm

    Coach… Ignorance is bliss.

  3. Anonymous on July 10, 2019 at 4:12 pm

    Two months before the primary election & our MAYOR. is stepping up? Gotta love his motivation!😩

Leave a Comment